Short Story 1 – Part 5

Posted on

[5]

It was the smell that stirred me. Pine tree. And rain. What the hell? I was not thrilled that this had happened again. I thought that if I kept my eyes closed long enough I would open my eyes and be back home. After about thirty seconds, I knew this would not happen as my sense had continued to grow stronger and stronger. The sound of moving water slowly became apparent and as I opened my eyes I discovered I was laying in a patch of grass about ten feet from the river. The sun was rising and it was almost light. It’s light. For once I’ll be able to see. The scenery was beautiful. There were mountains surrounded by lush, green vegetation. I turned my head the other direction…

 

A lone figure sat on a stump staring at me. His hair was long and dark but starting to gray at the top. He had a strong jaw line, with a lean, muscular body that was visible in part due the fact that his only article of clothing was a worn and tattered loin clothes that seemed to be made out of some type of leather or skin. In fact, I don’t think I had ever seen so many muscles visible on one body.

 

We spent a few moments simply staring at each other. I was afraid to move, but I was more than ready to run if that’s what I needed to do. Suddenly, he stood up. Alert; listening. He seemed to be able to hear something in the distance. He looked at me and moved his arms in a motion that seemed to say “follow me”. He could be leading me into an ambush… he could be trying to help me. My mind was racing through scenarios at super speed, but my gut told me to follow him. As soon as I stepped toward him, he started running. Good thing I’m prepared to run. I started after him. He was quick as a whip, and I was having a terrible time navigating through the foliage as quickly as he was.

 

Thump. Thump. Thump. The sound of heavy footsteps in the distance was unnerving. Is this what he heard before we left? All I could do was hope that he knew where he was going.

 

2 thoughts on “Short Story 1 – Part 5

    acuriousgal said:
    September 20, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    Sooooooo good!!!!

Leave a Reply

