the tree in the meadow is my friend

Posted on

the tree in the meadow is my friend

 

during the spring its new (l)(e)(a)(v)(e)(s)

protect me from the rain

we watch the flowers bloom

and the fields turn green

 

during the summer its long, sinewy branches and leaves

protect me from the scorching sun

while we read an old tattered book

or try to write one

 

during the fall my friend begins to lose its leaves

at the end of one branch

a lone, red (leaf) hangs

waiting to fall off

I watch it carefully

holding on to the thought

that it will never fall off

 

but it does

 

and during the winter

it stands tall but lonely

our friendship weakens

if only briefly

until the cold air starts to turn warm

2 thoughts on “the tree in the meadow is my friend

    acuriousgal said:
    October 4, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    Very nice, Kendra!!!

Leave a Reply

