Short Story 1 – Part 11

Posted on

[11]

“So, let me get this straight, you found a cluster of islands that has never been discovered?” Francine asked; I could hear the amazement in her voice.

 

“Yeah, but that’s just the beginning.” Was I really ready to tell someone? It didn’t matter. It’s now or never. “That’s not everything I wanted to tell you.” The words came out, though they were a struggle.

 

“Okay, what is it? Is everything okay?”

 

“I’m not exactly sure. You have to promise not to freak out and not to tell anyone. Kay?”

 

“Alright, Am, you’re starting to scare me,” her voice on the edge of fear.

 

“I seem to be having these, well, it’s kind of like a dream. Only when my mind leaves so does my body. Except, my body also stays here. My body is in two places at once.”

 

I paused, looked up and saw a bewildered look on my friend’s face. She met my eyes and cocked her head to the side, urging me to continue.

 

“There have been several times where I fall asleep and go somewhere else. Somewhere in a forest. An eerie forest. Normally by myself. The only thing I can hear is a loud thump that keeps getting closer. I have to make my way to a black hole. Once I jump in it takes me back and I wake up. The first time it happened I was at work. I was laying on the ground in a clearing when I woke up. All around me were trees and bushes, I could hear a river trickling. Directly behind me was a giant black… thing. When I looked into closely I could see myself sitting at my desk. Asleep. Suddenly I heard the sound—the loud thump—and the sound of crashing through brush. I jumped into the hole not knowing where else to go. Then I suddenly woke up at my desk, very little time had passed. A couple minutes at most.” I looked at Fran. Expecting her to be in shock, or laughing. But she wasn’t. She was calm. Maybe from her time on the job.

 

“Wow. How many times has it happened?”

 

“I don’t know. I lost track. Maybe around six or so?”

 

“Are they all the same?” I could tell she was thinking hard, trying to wrap her head around this. Trying to help me.

 

“No, each one is a little different. I seem to learn a little more about where I am and what’s chasing me each time I go. It hasn’t happened in a few days.”

 

“And when did you say they started?”

 

I didn’t. I thought back to that first time. Trying to remember what I had been doing. Suddenly, an image flashed to my head. It could be a coincidence.

 

“They started right after I found the islands on the satellite.”

 

Her eyebrows arched up. It seemed like that made sense in her head. “Do you think it could be connected to that?”

 

“Maybe, the last time it happened it was really different. A man, an indigenous looking man, appeared out of nowhere and beckoned me to follow him. It was astonishing what he showed me.” It had been. I had been keeping it in the back of my mind since I was so busy at work, but maybe that was why. Maybe it had to do with the islands.

 

“Don’t leave me hanging. What did you see?”

 

“Well, first…”

 

And then my world went dark again.

 

Leave a Reply

