Reflection on Reading

Posted on

There’s nothing quite the same as picking up a good book, losing yourself in it, and letting take you to a new world. I have learned to open my mind to books. That first page, the first few words even, are imperative in enthralling mind. I can normally tell whether or not I will like a book in that moment.

 

I remember always loving to read. But the first thing I remember having an impact on me is Harry Potter. I was instantly consumed by these books though I was hesitant to read them first. Eventually, after some persuasion from my friends, I picked the first one up. While I remember very little of what I read before (granted I was 10 when I read books 1-4), I remember a vast majority of what I have read since. This moment, I think, was pivotal in shaping who I am as a reader.

 

I love getting in lost in books. Each time I read I discover something new. I have found that it’s possible to relate in some way to even the tiniest part of a character. Whether it is a choice they make, an inner struggle, or some characteristic, there is something that draws me to them. I have learned so much from reading and identifying with characters because it helps me learn both about myself and the world around me. I can think about things in a new way, even see things in a new way.

 

I recently finished reading George Orwell’s 1984 for the first time. I loved it. There were several instances throughout where I noticed Winston was beginning to doubt himself. Those around him, even people he thought were the same as him, pushed their ideas onto him. He began to doubt himself, to think he was crazy. This happens all the time. We begin to transition our ideas to those around us even if that is not what is best for us.

 

Why do we do this?

Because we want to fit in?

Because we don’t want to feel alone?

 

This idea of doubt isn’t new to me. However, I had never thought about it in this manner before. If we are not thinking for ourselves, we are not being true to ourselves. We should never lose sight of who we are.

 

I love to read, and I will continue to read because it opens doors, expands our minds. Reading has helped define me and shape me into the person I am today.

2 thoughts on “Reflection on Reading

    acuriousgal said:
    November 6, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    1984, I haven’t read that book since, well, 1984! I love your thoughts about reading and how it opens your mind, lets you experience all sorts of new things/ideas. A good way to keep yourself in-tune to your own thoughts and ideas and not let them be molded by outside influences, such as Winston’s thoughts/ideas. We are often the product of our surroundings, sadly. Although, it is good to have those positive influences!!

      kendrawaters responded:
      November 6, 2013 at 4:41 pm

      Thanks! I feel like it was a good thing to reflect. 1984 seriously blew my mind though, more so than I was expecting it to. I agree with your last two sentences!

Leave a Reply

