the soft glow from the candle

Posted on Updated on

the soft glow from the candle

casts an eerie sense about the room

flickering every few seconds

fading in and out

unsure

of whether it wants to remain lit

 

I long for it to grow brighter

to consume the walls

melt the ice that has slowly surrounded me

crept its way to my core

 

I try to move towards it

placing one foot in front of the other

but it is too late

ice spills out onto the floor

freezing me in this dreadful spot

in the shabby room

 

the soft ruffle of fluttering curtains

turns my head toward the cracked window

a chilly breeze rushes past me

chilling the tip of my nose

and sending shivers down my spine

 

there is nothing I can do

poof

gone is the glow of the candle

miniscule as it was

it was my salvation

my escape from this world

extinguished

Leave a Reply

