EDIT: in a city of distortion

Posted on Updated on

Revised one of the poems I used for my creative writing class. The original can be found here.

I stir

awakened by the growling bark of a dog

as it snaps at the heels of the shoes

plodding quickly down the street

the cascading wails of a siren replace the bark

barely audible

several blocks to the east

quickly reaching the intersection down the street

stopping

suddenly

at the building next to mine

the siren so loud it ricochets in my head

bouncing off the surface of my brain

hitting my eardrum with the most force

heavy footsteps and breathing come from the shabby stairwell that leads to my door

I reach for the smooth cold piece of metal between the mattresses

just as the door slams open

hitting the wall with a bang

Leave a Reply

