the harsh yellow light radiating from the lamp

Posted on Updated on

the harsh yellow light radiating from the lamp

does nothing to help me find my way along the gravel lined road I walk

 

the faint outline of a body visible to my left

I reach out for the friend walking beside me

my hand fumbles through the darkness

searching through the pitch black air for the warmth of a hand to hold

all it finds is my shadow

my hand drops heavily to my side as I stumble on

 

a gust of wind blows through

pushing me along what I hope is still the street

 

the light flickers

goes out

 

a thought lingers in the back of my mind

trickles along my nerves

telling me I should stop

give up

but I can’t

 

I must continue down this road

searching for another light

to show me the way home

2 thoughts on “the harsh yellow light radiating from the lamp

    erikafuego said:
    December 17, 2013 at 8:15 am

    love this

Leave a Reply

