when you went away the world got darker

Posted on

when you went away the world got darker

a sheet of gray draped in your place

my heart frozen

a future without you seemed dreadful

 

it went on that way for months

whenever I looked you were gone

at times I caught you lingering

but you were too far away

 

your warmth couldn’t reach me

the coldness in my heart

spread to the tips of my fingers and toes

spreading to the world around me

 

the ground became colder with each step

or so it seemed

clouds came and went

but no matter how bright the world got

 

the warmth I so longed for couldn’t be found

 

but one day you came back

I could not only see you

but feel you as well

your warmth radiated inside my soul

 

melted the ice that had held me in place

brought me back to life

 

and I realized that our lives go in cycles

 

people come and go

just as the seasons come and go

just as life comes and go

 

but we can’t keep wondering

about the whens hows and what ifs

we must make of life what we can

and let the warmth of those around us radiate inside our souls

Leave a Reply

