I watched the sun disappear

Posted on

I watched the sun disappear

fade behind a whispering sheet of black

 

the sun had touched my soul

begun to melt the shields that protected it

exhausting from me the strength that held them

 

in the quiet blackness

those shields tried to mend

creating rough layers over what was already there

any transparency fading quickly behind

 

but the rains came quickly

droplets eased through the cracks

and pounding hail quickly followed

the new shields

bro ken

and

b

.  en t

do nothing more than reopen the freshly healed wounds

 

my mind no longer has control

they say that what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger

and as my heart works to repair the damage

my soul knows this is true

 

one day

the sun will come back

its light will cut through the black that I see

its heat will dry the water that has pooled around me

and my shields will retreat only when they know it is safe

2 thoughts on “I watched the sun disappear

    lesleypena2014 said:
    April 26, 2014 at 8:34 am

    I really liked it, it brought back some hope that I thought I had lost when I witnessed by sun go.

Leave a Reply

