it has been days since we spoke

Posted on

it has been days since we spoke

since I felt your touch

or heard my name ever so softly on your lips

 

when you left

a fire was extinguished

its flames snared by the snow that came with December

 

the last lingering of its smoke dissipated

as the new year rung in

 

for months I sat under the shade of the old oak

doing nothing more than

 

wishing

hoping

&

waiting

 

for something to change

for some sign that your leaving was not forever

that you would one day come back and once again free my soul

 

as the seasons changed I watched

looking in at the world around my from a pane of one way glass

so impenetrable it could not be broken by anything

 

or anyone

 

as a bird chirps in the tree above me

the sun in the sky radiates my soul

 

its warmth the only warmth flowing through my veins

weaving through to my heart

 

a heart that has been covered in ice

shut off from the world

 

as small flakes fly off and scratches are made

I feel a change

a shift

in not only myself but the world as well

Leave a Reply

