Short Story 1- Part 3

Posted on Updated on

[3]

This time when I awoke I was on the subway. I looked at my watch and saw that it was 6:00. Having left the office at 5, I knew I hadn’t missed my stop. It was only a 22-minute commute from my job at the Museum of Natural History to my apartment in Washington Heights. That means I had been asleep for less than 15 minutes. This was the second time this had happened to me: two consecutive days in a row. The first one was shorter. I had woken up in the clearing, saw something black coming at me, and tripped into the black hole. I was still trying to figure out what they meant. I wasn’t sure I’d ever figure it out.

I had an urge to pop my back, so I twisted to my right. My muscles ached and I knew I was going to be sore from running. I stretched my neck as far as it would go and something caught my eye. There was a man in the very back. Tall, well-built, dark blazer, slacks, tie, and shoes, sunglasses. In a subway? His hair was slicked back; I noticed the wire in his ear and my eyes quickly dropped to his waist. I was looking for a gun, but it was impossible to tell if he had one under the blazer. The man did not flinch. He just sat there, staring straight ahead.

A chill went down my spine. I couldn’t help but wonder if there was any connection to my “experiences” as I was calling them. It may have been a coincidence, but the resemblance to the figure chasing me seemed too evident. He was both tall and muscular and wearing black. Suddenly the subway came to a halt. As I exited I tried to see where the man went, but I was soon overcome by the typical New York rush and there was no way I would be able to find the man again. At least not today.

Leave a comment